ShiftOut Function(s) Why are there two ?

So I started playing around with a 74hc595 because there was a chapter in my Sainsmart Starter Kit on it and when I researched
on the forum it looked like there was quite a lot to be said about using it. I started on this page here:
http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/shiftOut#.UwKUGPldV8E

and clicked on a link there and wound up here :

Started breadboarding the circuits and running examples and then when I ran the first example I saw this statement:

shiftOut(dataPin, clockPin, MSBFIRST, numberToDisplay);

The ShiftOut function was obviously built into the Arduino IDE which seemed convenient but when I looked at this
example:

I noticed that it had a shiftOut funtion defined:

// the heart of the program
void shiftOut(int myDataPin, int myClockPin, byte myDataOut) {
  // This shifts 8 bits out MSB first, 
  //on the rising edge of the clock,
  //clock idles low

//internal function setup
  int i=0;
  int pinState;
  pinMode(myClockPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(myDataPin, OUTPUT);

//clear everything out just in case to
  //prepare shift register for bit shifting
  digitalWrite(myDataPin, 0);
  digitalWrite(myClockPin, 0);

//for each bit in the byte myDataOut?
  //NOTICE THAT WE ARE COUNTING DOWN in our for loop
  //This means that %00000001 or "1" will go through such
  //that it will be pin Q0 that lights. 
  for (i=7; i>=0; i--)  {

//if the value passed to myDataOut and a bitmask result 
    // true then... so if we are at i=6 and our value is
    // %11010100 it would the code compares it to %01000000 
    // and proceeds to set pinState to 1.
    if ( myDataOut & (1<<i) ) {
      pinState= 1;
    }
    else {	
      pinState= 0;
    }

//Sets the pin to HIGH or LOW depending on pinState
    digitalWrite(myDataPin, pinState);
    //register shifts bits on upstroke of clock pin  
    digitalWrite(myClockPin, 1);
    //zero the data pin after shift to prevent bleed through
    digitalWrite(myDataPin, 0);
  }

//stop shifting
}