ShiftOut() Max7219/AS1108 NOOB alert.

I am pretty new to the arduino but have gone through much of the LED blinking and simple control of inputs and outputs and most of it makes pretty good sense to me. My most recent project was to attempt to control a 7 segment display using a serial led driver chip similar to the Max7219. Specifically the AS1108.

My question however is not about the AS1108 so much as the some of the commands used in the ledcontrol library. Specifically ShiftOut(). I believe that I understand the basic idea of shift out and have read the description from the wiring language reference which indicates that ShiftOut allows you to send one byte of data, one bit at a time.

Since things didnt work out just hooking the led driver and using the library and associated example code, I decided to look under the hood of the led control library and figure out if the library was sending the correct commands to the AS1108. After quite a bit of review, I think that it is doing the right things however I am hung up a little on using shift out.

The thing that is puzzling me is in this application, sending commands to the AS1108, the AS1108 expects to receive 16 bit packages as the programming sequence. If ShiftOut() can only send one byte at a time, it will have to be called twice to complete a 16 bit sequence. If this is the case, will the AS1108 wait for the second 8 bit package so long as the latch has not yet gone high?

It would seem to me that the all 16 bits would need to happen in 16 consecutive clock pulses although I think I just affirmed my own ignorance.

The specific piece of code in the LEDControl Library that got me thinking about this is as follows:

void LedControl::spiTransfer(int addr, volatile byte opcode, volatile byte data) {
    //Create an array with the data to shift out
    int offset=addr*2;
    int maxbytes=maxDevices*2;

for(int i=0;i<maxbytes;i++)
      spidata[i]=(byte)0;
    //put our device data into the array