Shifty Digits (library) - Making it easier to control two 7-segment displays!

I recently made a dual 7-segment display board with two IC sockets for attaching the shift registers that drive the displays. I have no problem with writing my own code in the Arduino IDE, but it gets tiring to have to copy the same code to drive the same display over and over again into a new sketch, so I decided to write a library.

ShiftyDigits makes it easier for the user to control two 7-segment displays using two shift registers in series! I am currently working on a version that allows the user to input how many digits are going to be used so they aren’t only limited to two.

I don’t have the resources to include diagrams or schematics and I’m not very good at explaining things but I’m going to try my best. :-\

The setup for ShiftyDigits is fairly simple, but I think it’s important to note that I used individual 7-segment displays with a common cathode on each side of the component.

The dual shift register part of the shiftOut tutorial illustrates the setup perfectly, however you MUST make sure that for each shift register the jumper wires to the display are as follows:

Q0 → Anode F,
Q1 → Anode G,
Q2 → Anode E,
Q3 → Anode D,
Q4 → Anode C,
Q5 → Anode RHDP,
Q6 → Anode B,
Q7 → Anode A.

Also, the ones digit of the display should be attached to the first shift register and the tens digit should be attached to the second shift register

You can attach the resistors however you see fit. I accidentally linked mine to the common cathodes and saw no problem with the performance so I kept it as is (sure beats using 8 resistors!).