Shopping in Tokyo, advice request

I'm on a trip to Tokyo and will go to Electric Town soon to shop stuff to use with arduino, and the board itself. I am a true noob so I am very depending on advice from others.

1. I am out for bargains of components that will be more expensive in Europe. I would like to find good prices for solenoids, servos, sensors etc. I am building a stash.

2. I am also out to buy the Arduino stuff itself. Arduino unos, some nice shields etc.

3. I aim to use this stuff to manipulate acoustic music instrument toys and control them algorithmically from software like Pure Data. But it may be for any music project later on.

4. I need to know precisely what type of components and values will work with arduino.

5. I would also be very happy I could get some advice on where to go to check out some cool projects. Or performances. Or anything else cool vaguely related.

Please help me out with this! I will be very thankful.

And please ask me to first clarify if you are unsure what I mean.

N.

I did the same some 25 years ago, 6809 processor days. It was fun to go to that same district in Tokyo. Hundreds of small stores no bigger that 10X10 feet, some selling only capacitors some transistors etc. Prices were cheaper than in Canada, but not a great deal less. I would suggest you go have a great visit and not spend too much time looking for things.

Better today to order parts from China, free shipping.

I don't know if you are going to get any "good deals" in Tokyo, but I'm sure they have some cool stuff. You would have to stop over in China for the dirt cheap junk, but bringing a big stash of electronics through customs might raise some eyebrows. I hear import taxes are a big thing.

I agree .

Only buy 'cool stuff' you cannot find elsewhere.

Mind you i have a cupboard full from years of radio rallies that never sees the light of day.

look for tokyo rose as well

Some shops you may want to look at are Aitendo, Sengoku and Akizuki Denshi.