Shorting 5v to GND?

I am a total beginner on this, and it would probably have been a better idea to ask for help before printing my PCB :slight_smile:

Anyhow, I have attached an image of my Arduino shield PCB.
I have connected switches to the jumper 1, 2 and 3. My goal is that you must turn on switch 1 then 2 and then 3. For example if switch 2 is off, then switch 3 cant be turned on.

The problem is that the arduino is not starting at all when I have my shield connected. If I connect the arduino with USB to my mac I get: “USB device drawing too much power”.

Am I shorting 5v to ground?
I use 1k resistors for the switches, is that to low? Should I use 10k?
Is there a major issue in my PCB design?

Thanks!

yes 10k-20k pull down resistors are recommended.

better yet would be to remove the jumpers and replace the resistors with your switches.

then use INPUT_PULLUP to enable the built in 20k resistors.

you must then also reverse the logic in your code.

This is a good write up on the subject: Switches tutorial

either way your PCB should be fine.

kenn1, can you please show your corresponding code? And connecting pins together like that is never a good idea. One mistake in code and you have a dead short. (Which is what seems to be happening, by your description.)

While you're just starting out and unsure of what you're doing, you would be better off to buy a breadboard rather than make 'shields' for such simple circuits, too.

If you want switches 2 and 3 to only be able to turn on if switch 1 is on etc, you should do it in code.

Anyway, post that code of your's so we can check it out to see what's going on. (Between code tags of course.)

Is possible the shield under side had shorted to the USB connector on the 5 V line, since on of your jumper was just on top of the USB connector.

BillHo:
Is possible the shield under side had shorted to the USB connector on the 5 V line, since on of your jumper was just on top of the USB connector.

Well spotted Bill.