Should I get the Arduino Ethernet Shield or the Wireless Shield?

I'm not sure which of these to get and I can only get one. What can I do with the two of them? Can I turn on a Tv using the Arduino wireless shield? Ideas on what the two can do will be helpful, so I can make a decision on which one is more suitable for my needs. Also, do they both come with everything I need (minus the Ethernet cable for the Ethernet shield) to get started?

(deleted)

I've been dabbling with the E'net shield and it's quite fun. My server, as programmed very basically right now, should be visible to you here where you can view my time and temp. I've had it working with simple buttons and check-boxes switching an led from a browser. You might like to have a look at this tutorial

It's complete to use, as you say no drop cable, and you will likely need to have an sd card available. There's also a PoE module available which might make deployment simpler.

I have no experience of the wireless shield.

Hi Cryptic_Wonder,

Both the ethernet shield and the wireless shield are advanced parts and I think we can tell from your question that probably neither are suitable for you at this stage of your learning. Save your money for more basic but useful parts for now. We can help you decide what to buy if you can tell us what you want to do first. Start simple!

So you want to control a TV? Tell us what parts you have already. Do you have an Arduino, breadboards, a multimeter etc. ?

Paul

@JimboZA

So I have to buy the SD card separately? What type? Also, this server of yours, does your Arduino have to be turned on for in to be available and must it be connected to a router 24/7?

@PaulRB If it's all programming and wiring components I should be fine, I've been programming for years although I am new to the Arduino.

It takes a microSD, mines a 2GB one that I already had, not sure what capacity it can handle.