Should I use delay() in loop, if not particularly needed?

Hello, I’m a new guy in Arduino stuff, I’ve some experience in 3D game programming.

I just wrote a code for my servo that checks whether the button is pressed. It doesn’t need any delay() functions in the loop, but it also doesn’t need to go through lightning fast. Once every 100ms e.g. would be fine.

What do I achieve by using delay() in terms of power consumption, efficiency etc.? Should I stick delay(100) just for that sake, or does it hurt my program somehow?

Pretty much summed up: Is it better to delay main loop as much as possible, or as less as possible?

This is pretty much one-time-only question that I need to get out of the way so I don’t go with the wrong choice. Just for the interest for the core mechanics and optimization. Thanks!

What do I achieve by using delay() in terms of power consumption, efficiency etc.?

Nothing, nothing, and nothing.

Should I stick delay(100) just for that sake, or does it hurt my program somehow?

No, it is not needed. It won't hurt anything, except that it will make your switch less responsive.

Is it better to delay main loop as much as possible, or as less as possible?

As little as possible.

But if I need to use timers, I found out that I have to use larger numbers because the program runs faster.

For example, I need to time that user has held the button for 3 seconds. I do this by increasing TIMER value(++timer;) when button is pressed. If I don't have any delays restricting the main loop, then I have to wait it to reach numbers like 10 000, instead of like 300. This takes away memory, doesn't it?

Or should I use different type of timer instead of increasing variable?(Like millis()?) That would pretty much solve this problem, so I could run the loop at any rate with fixed timings.
But I'd need to run the device more than 50 days(hopefully, it's battery powered), so would the internal timer overflow?

Thanks for very fast and good response!