Should I use methods? or nested loops?

Hi,

I'm designing a small car that follows the white line on an athletic track for training and I need to create 2 workout programs. 1st program=steady state, same speed during a given amount of time. 2nd program= interval training, alternate between sprint and rest. The user should be able to pick between either program, and then enter the followings: the speed and the time for the first program, the speed of the sprint, the speed of the "rest", the time of the sprint, and the time of rest for the interval training program. Should I use 2 methods? one void steady() and one void interval() and depending on what the user input is I can call the good method? or should I use nested loops? I'm a beginner with Arduino...

2 methods. At top of loop, check to see if something has happened that would cause a change - user press stopped, user pressed program change, whatever. Then continue the mode you were in if nothing changed:

void loop(){
// read buttons, decide if the mode you were in changed
// or process commands from RF remote
// or ...
:
:
switch(mode){
case 0:
// steady mode
:
break;

case 1:
// interval mode
:
break;
case 2:
// pause mode while user has a smoke while coach is in other side of track
:
break;
case 3:
// stop mode while user pants and catches  breath before starting a new mode
:
break;
} // end switch
} // end loop

Thank you! the switch statement makes sense to me and it seems like the best idea in this case. I only have 3 push buttons wired on my arduino board, basically I use 1 as an increase button, 1 as a decrease button, and 1 as a start (next mode) button. Should I start a count and once I hit start it takes that number and goes to the appropriate case?

It is generally good practice to write different functions / methods for different functionalities. So yes, I would recommend it. You can call each function in your switch statement.