showing mili second time as a decimal in the serial monitor

I am trying to build a timing system with a switch to start the time and then a IR sensor to stop the time.

I am new to writing sketches and basically I have found some code for a similar design (IR started the clock) but adapted it for the switch. I am having problems with the output to the serial monitor. it is showing as one long number and not a decimal number.... I know I can divide it by 1000 and get the correct number but I cant seem to do that in my actual code to get it to do it on the serial monitor as a decimal. I am sure that I have to change a few things from the cut code but I am not sure what needs to be adjusted.
this is my code below....

[code]

unsigned long t1=0;
unsigned long t2=0;
void sens1() { if ((t1==0) && (t2==0)) t1=millis(); }
void sens2() { if ((t2==0) && (t1!=0)) t2=millis(); }

void setup() {
  pinMode(2,INPUT);
  pinMode(3,INPUT);
  attachInterrupt(0,sens1,RISING);
  attachInterrupt(1,sens2,RISING);

Serial.begin(115200);
}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite(13,t1?HIGH:LOW);
  if (t2>0)
    {

Serial.println(t2-t1);
     t1=t2=0;

}
 }

[/code]

Hello please post the serial monitor output because I can’t make sense of your question. As described I would expect the output to be a decimal number but you seem to be saying it’s not.

You haven't followed all the caveats for interrupt service routines. Rather than look further than the two that I see right away, why not you do the reading, fix it and come back if it doesn't work after that...
https://www.gammon.com.au/interrupts
Otherwise this thread will become a series of "oh, and this too..."

I can tell you that you are treating a timing variable as a boolean value in your ternary expression. That is so strange that if you did it on purpose, you should document it with inline comments. But I suspect maybe no.

Thanks for using code tags, though...