Simple 3.3v question

Hi, i always used 5v arduinos and components, but for more advanced projects it will be inevitable to use the newer ones like the mkr1000 or other 3.3v arduinos.

I know that the 3.3v pins on the newer models can supply only a small amount of power, so to not destroy a valuable arduino i am playing with my lab bench supply, some leds, some transistors, and two lines, one 5v line and a 3.3 line.

I used transistors before for powering heavier loads so i set up a led with it's resistor connected to the transistor emitter and controlled on the base from the 3.3v

I noticed that i can't get the full brightness of the led unless i 5v in the base, i searched for a guide on this topic but strangely i can't find any.
I am not an expert in hardware, and specifically transistors are a bit of black box, i know the basics, but i really can't read the data sheets apart from some simple infos.

I think this must be a common issue for people switching from 5v to 3.3v.

Tnx

1. Schematic?
  2. Resistor values?
  3. Transistor type or part number?
  4. LED type?

Here is the most common method to connect. Change the reference of "Pin 5V" to "Pin 3.3V" and it applies to your situation.

Here is the source:

https://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=12737&reply=3#reply3

The AVR processors in standard Arduinos run on 1.8 to 5 V, and you can safely draw 20 mA from the digital pins, regardless of supply voltage.

For LEDs at, say, 3.3V, to get the same brightness you will need to use a lower value of the current limiting resistor.

I noticed that i can't get the full brightness of the led unless i 5v in the base, i searched for a guide on this topic but strangely i can't find any.

That is because it is not actually a problem.
What you are doing is.
But unless you tell us what you are doing we can't tell you what you are doing wrong.

Schematic and photograph please.