simple 5 button code input to trigger output

Hello

This is my first post, so please forgive any inadvertent etiquette mistakes.

I’m trying, without much success, to code a simple 5 button input sequence to change an output from HIGH to LOW if the correct sequence is entered, so that I can trigger an external event.

I’m very new to coding, it’s not my background at all, and I am certain I have made a big mistake, or many…

I’ve read many example codes, and to honest, I get completely lost in the weeds, and despite significant time searching for an applicable sketch, I haven’t been able to find one that I can understand sufficiently well to adapt.

below is where I have go to so far. It turns on the LED, but that’s about it…

I have played with the physical setup of the breadboard, used it with and without resistors to short the buttons to earth, tried the code with the pins set to PULLUP and not, tinkered for hours, and I’m just a bit lost here, and could really use some simple advice that a complete novice can (very gratefully) understand and follow.

Any help you can offer would be very very welcome.

Many thanks

Adam.

const int button1 = 2;// permanent pin configuration:
const int button2 = 3;
const int button3 = 4;
const int button4 = 5;
const int button5 = 6;

byte combination[] = {2, 4, 6, 3, 5};  // a 5 number combination:
byte userInput[5]; // same size, will hold user input:
boolean flag = true;// boolen flag for true false check:

void setup() { // input output config - LED on pin 13, just for PoC:
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(13, HIGH); // to ensure locked:
  }

void loop() { // simple for loop to check flag status:
  for (byte n = 0; n < 5 ; n++)
{
   if (userInput[n] != combination[n]) // no match, stay locked:
   {
       flag = false;
       digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
   }
   {if (userInput[n] == combination[n]);// if flag true, output LOW and unlocked:
   flag = true;
   digitalWrite(13, LOW);
   }
}
}