Simple analogead and LowPower. not working...

Hi all,

I am an Arduino beginner ... :confused:
I have an UNO compatible board and loaded the example sketch which reads the analog A0 and displays the voltage.
This works fine.
I added a delay(2000) at the end of the loop to see what happens. Works OK as well.

I then included the LowPower library and replaced the delay with :
LowPower.powerDown(SLEEP_2S, ADC_OFF, BOD_OFF);

Now, it displays only garbage approximatively every 2s.

Shouldn't this work and introduce a sort of 2s delay ? Is it a wakeup time problem ?
I tried to add a delay after the sleep, but that didn't help. Only the TX LED is not permanently ON.

Thanks for any help.

I bet you probably have to turn the ADC back on.

Thanks Isaac

But is this not the case when we do a analogRead(A0) ??

Just to be sure, i tried on another board i received today with same result... Both boards have the MEGA328P.

I edited this later... I found out that the problem is the Serial.println() function that is used to display the result... When i add a delay(200) after the Serial.println, the voltage value is well displayed on the screen.
So i suppose that the chip goes to sleep before all the datas have been sent to the serial port..

Adding a delay() is not a good idea as it sucks power for nothing !

I increased the serial speed, but this is quite unstable as well..

Any solution ?

Cheers,

Setting a higher Baudrate should work fine. I use 115200 most of the times. Also, this is the speed of the Arduino Uno bootloader (and that seems to work fine).

Try to add while(!Serial)

So

Serial.println("I just put a lot of text here.");
while(!Serial){
}
gotosleepFunction()

But yeay, you have to wait until serial is done talking before going to sleep. But sucking power... What are you building!?

Hi Septillion,

The if(!serial) didn't help... >:(