Simple control of linear actuator

I'm a programmer but complete novice when it comes to the electronics side of things so please speak slowly and use small words.

Here is my actuator:

http://www.eco-worthy.com/catalog/worthy-16400mm-stoke-linear-actuator-1500n-57mms-p-458.html

It is 12V DC and has built-in limit switches. It would typically be switched via a DPDT relay.

All I want to do is be able to tell the actuator when to extend and when to retract, that's it.

So assuming I have the arduino and the actuator and that's it...what do I need to add to my shopping list to make this work? (looking for everything, including the basics like wire, or breadboards etc, I want to get everything together first so I can hit the ground running). Much obliged!

PS: I haven't bought the arduino yet, but if there is a better option than the default UNO one let me know...I saw one with relays built in for higher voltage and current that might be what I need?

The "data sheet" is very discreet about the actuator control. At least it should work with a H-bridge (ordinary DC motor driver) instead of the DPDT switch, so that it can be stopped as well as a third "throw". The position can be estimated from the 5.7mm/s movement speed. If you only need to fully expand and retract it, the limit switches can disconnect power, for that direction, when reached.

Do you already have an idea (circuit diagram) for controlling the actuator with a SPDT switch?