Simple Fade Question

I am a newbie and had support getting this up and running. My goal is to have a white strip of less that will dim as a turn a dial and finally go off. I have a ton of neopixels laying around so I used them. The issue is that this isn’t really a true fade. At about 5o% the strip turns blue in color and continues to fade in that tint as the dial is turned more.

Is there a way to do this with the set.brightness command? I think that might preserve the white look.

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
#ifdef __AVR__
#include <avr/power.h>
#endif
#define PIN              8  
#define NUMPIXELS       43
#define KNOB            A1

Adafruit_NeoPixel pixels = Adafruit_NeoPixel(NUMPIXELS, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

int delayval = 10; // delay for half a second

void setup() {
  pixels.begin();
  pinMode(PIN, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
   int i;              // loop variable
   int value = analogRead(KNOB)>>2;
   int clr = pixels.Color(255-value, 255-value, 255-value);
   //clr = pixels.Color(value, value, value); // same value for red green and blue gives levels of white
   for(int i=0;i<NUMPIXELS;i++){
   pixels.setPixelColor(i, clr);
   pixels.show();
   delay(delayval); // Delay for a period of time (in milliseconds).
   }
}

You are writing to the strip even if there is no change on the dial and you are delaying between writes which should cause that the color change is like a running light. You code provides no obvious answers to why the strip turns blue, this may be an electrical issue.

Not the cause of your problem, but comments are intended to help understand and/or document what the program is doing, not confuse the reader

The whole program would be easier to read if Auto formatted in the IDE

#ifdef __AVR__
#include <avr/power.h>
#endif
#define PIN              8
#define NUMPIXELS       43
#define KNOB            A1

Adafruit_NeoPixel pixels = Adafruit_NeoPixel(NUMPIXELS, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

void setup()
{
  pixels.begin();