Simple farm plot monitor? temperature, humidity and light?

I'm a complete newb when it comes to Arduinos and somehat familiar with programming on computers but nothing to the extent of some of you folks :)

I'll try and describe my needs the best I can and see if you folks can help

Sensors:

Thermoprobe for soil temperature Thermoprobe for air temperature Photocell for day light measuring (is it possible to have these monitor lumens? intensity etc?) Probe for soil moisture (using this technique http://gardenbot.org/howTo/soilMoisture/) Probe for air moisture (see link above for same perhaps?)

Read out: I would like if possible to have this read out data saved to an on board memory (does not need to be removable) If I could have this data read from the sensors say, 6 times a day that would be perfect. The data would need to be saved on the beforementioned memory, every x amount of days I would walk out to the device, plug it in via USB and "grab" the data off it, onto my mac. I imagine a simple .txt file would be sufficient, where I would then convert it on my Macbook into a useable form (such as making an excel list of data inputs)

Power: Powered via 6volt lantern battery (reduced down to appropriate electrical voltage) which is tied to a photocell for solar charging

A bit of background; I grow organic tobacco and sell it in the unprocessed form. Because I can't use fertilizer, chemicals etc it is very time intensive. A lot of issues such as lack of plant growth, wilt or certain diseases can be attributed to atmospheric conditions, being able to utilize this monitor would allow me to see what's truly happening in my field when I'm not at the field. It would also help me be able to track and possibly predict issues before they show their ugly face.

I know this is a big request, but any help is appreciated.

From the fields of Michigan I give you all a large thank you!

Jeremy (michibacy)