Simple led project advice

My daughter is building a small Lego tower and I want to put a led strip inside so that the translucent bricks light up. I would like them to change colour and turn on in patterns.

I am fairly new to hardware but have a long history in software.

Can someone point me in the right direction as to the parts I might need.

The model is 8 inches tall so I will need a very small strip of LEDs too...

Thanks in advance

Adafruit neopixles.

Pretty much any Arduino-ish thing for a processor.

-jim lee

jimLee:
Adafruit neopixles.

It's time I bought a small strip of those: there are a million posts about them of late, and some brilliant effects I've seen on the 'net. Probably worth a "play"

Please note that because of the Corvid-19 virus Adafruit is not shipping however you should be able to find another place that will sell them to you, they are a popular item.

https://www.adafruit.com/

digikey carries their stuff.

-jim lee

saildude:
Please note that because of the Corvid-19 virus Adafruit is not shipping

Corvid-19?

Stone the crows!

What else should I need?
I was thinking an Arduino mini or nano...

Paul__B:
Corvid-19?

Should have been COVID-19, sorry my spelling is challenged on a good day,

However one of my nieces has it and the doctors only have 4 test kits for a town of about 33,000 so she was just sent home with no testing and told if she can't breath some time to go to the emergency room, ain't our medical care and the folks that make the tests great??????

Saildude, you have a J boat?

-jim lee

jimLee:
Saildude, you have a J boat?

-jim lee

Yes I do a J/92 - 30 ft - Heart of gold - named after a spaceship powered by the infinite improbability drive - for health reasons I have just listed it with Sail Northwest in Seattle.