Simple led

So I have made an led light blink SOS. I want to make it permanent, in an old pcb. I do not want the arduino to control it, I want to make my own little led toy independent of the arduino. What component allows me to up load the blink program to make this happen? Basically I want to eventually learn to make my own electronics. I thought I would start with an led. I know an arduino is not needed to make this happen, I just need to know what actually records the program into a pcb, if that makes sense? I am new to this so if I sound crazy, I get it. I am dying to learn how to build bigger projects.

If you plan to program your own AVRchips (with or without the arduino bootloader) you should start by considering the purchase of an ISP programmer. It will allow you to buy Atmel AVR atmega328P (or other Atmel chips) and program them yourself, either by placing the bootloader on by yourself and uploading "serially"... or learning to code in ASM or AVRGCC (which the arduino solution is based on).

Keep in mind that AVRGCC is rather advanced and you will most likely really want to follow the path that shows you how to create a Breadboard Arduino as a next step.

I have found Nick's page

Make your own board

to be great.

http://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=11637

I know an arduino is not needed to make this happen, I just need to know what actually records the program into a pcb, if that makes sense?

Actually, you don't need a "program" at all!

It's certainly easier in software (with a microcontroller)... I could probably whip-out that program in 5 or 10 minutes, whereas it would take me at least a few hours design & build the thing in hardware if I had the right parts on-hand.