simple obstacle evading robot with sharp sensor

This is my first project after the tutorials. What I am trying to do is powering tamiya dual gearbox tracked chassis. I used 4n35 optocouplers with bd137 transistors to protect my arduino. I am using a sharp sensor 2yoa21 to measure the distance. When sensor detects a range below determined value one track runs forward to change the heading of the robot. Nothing seems wrong with the wiring but somehow robot enters into unlimited turns instead of finding its way.
Here is the code any help is appreciated

int potPin = 0; // select the input pin for the sharpsensor
int ledPinIR = 11; // select the pin for the SENSOR LIMIT LED
int val = 0; // variable to store the value coming from the sensor
int ledPin = 12; // OPTOCOUPLER connected to the right engine
int ledPin1 = 13; // OPTOCOUPLER connected to the left engine
void setup() // run once, when the sketch starts
{

pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // sets the righ engine pin as output
pinMode(ledPin1, OUTPUT); // sets the left engine pin as output
pinMode(ledPinIR, OUTPUT); // declare the ledPinIR as an OUTPUT
}

void loop() // run over and over again
{
val = analogRead(potPin); // sensor read
if (val < 250) // no object in range
{
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH); // sets right engine forward
digitalWrite(ledPin1, HIGH); // sets left engine forward
delay(100); // waits for a second
digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW); // stop to read the sensor
digitalWrite(ledPin1, LOW); // stop to read the sensor
delay(100);
}
else // object in range
{
digitalWrite(ledPinIR, HIGH); // led warning
digitalWrite(ledPin1, HIGH); // turn left
delay(250);
digitalWrite(ledPinIR, LOW); // stop to read sensor
digitalWrite(ledPin1, LOW);
delay(250);
}
}

I testet your code, seems to be correct.
Maybe your sensor values aren’t as expected?
try this:
add this line to the end of setup():

Serial.begin(9600);

and this line after your val = analogRead(potPin):

Serial.println(val);