Simple question about a draining capacitor sensing circuit

Hi Guys,

I'll start off by apologizing. I am a noob hobbyist. What I would like to know is I made a simple circuit as shown in the attachment. I am using my USB power to power my Arduino Uno Rev 3 and the circuit. All I am doing is charging up a 4700uF capacitor and powering a small green LED. What I am also doing is looking at the analog input from A0, which is going to the positive rail of this circuit. Works great.

If I break the positive rail with a switch, the LED slowly goes off and the A0 is reading in the flow of electricity as dropping, which is good.

However, if I flip the switch back over to re-connect the broken positive rail, the Arduino locks, and I hear my USB port reset (Windows makes the da-dunk noise). Until I remove my USB cable and wait a moment, then re-hook it up, is everything fine.

So my question is, what is causing this, and what component/circuit redesign would be required to resolve that?

Thanks in advance,
Erik

Closing the switch on a capacitor that size is like putting a crowbar across the 5V line to ground!
Don't do this!
Put a 330 ohm resistor in series with the switch the voltage will only get to ~2.5V then.
Why do you want to do this?

Add a resistor in series with the switch? Between the switch and the power drawing side of the circuit, or between the switch and the arduino 5V?

Eventually, I will putting in a voltage regulator with large capacitors, and I wanted a way to read when power had been pulled from them. Then I can kill processes to other things, such as writing to an SD Card, before the power totally drops out.

USB interfaces are protected against overload when too much current is drawn from them. USB is specified at 0.5A max although some will supply more.

Capacitors, when can be considered a very low impedance to ac.