Simple serial parsing

Hi everyone, I’m new to this Arduino platform, and excited to try things out, but having some trouble with what should be simple serial communications. I’ve pulled out some code from a larger project to try and understand a bug and replicate it. Eventually, I will be sending data from various structures on the Arduino to a Python parser, but I can’t seem to even transmit single correct bytes…

Arduino Code::

void setup() {
  Serial3.begin(57600);
}

void loop() {
  for (byte i = 0; i < 10; ++i){
    Serial3.write(i);
  }

delay(5000); 
}

Python Code::

from serial import Serial

COM = Serial(port = "COM6", baudrate = 57600)
bytesAvail = 0;
serial_data = ''

while (1):	
	bytesAvail = COM.inWaiting()
	if (bytesAvail):
		serial_data = COM.read(bytesAvail)		
		out_str = ''
		for ch in serial_data:
			out_str += "%02X " % ord(ch)
		print out_str

Now I should be getting parsed numbers from 0 - 9, something like 01 02 03 … etc
But I’m actually getting this stream: FD FB F9 F7 F5 F3 F1 EF ED 00

Do I need to configure the serial port differently, or is it possible I have a hardware issue?

I’m getting the data back in Python by connecting pins 2,3, and 7 on a db9 connector to serial3tx, rx, and gnd and to a simple usb-serial dongle (that’s COM6).

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Serial3.write(i);

"write" send the binary value, not the ASCii. Try "print"

I want to send binary data.

OK This:

But I'm actually getting this stream: FD FB F9 F7 F5 F3 F1 EF ED 00

looks suspiciously like an inversion.

I'm getting the data back in Python by connecting pins 2,3, and 7 on a db9 connector

and what is driving the appropriate levels?

I'm using a Belkin USB-Serial converter, but I assumed that the levels were being driven by the board.. I scoped the transmit pin and it looks fine.

but I assumed that the levels were being driven by the board

Hmm.

I scoped the transmit pin and it looks fine.

I think you need to define "fine"

Groove:

Hmm.