Simple Timer Guidance

Hello all,

This is my first time using an Arduino or doing any sort of programming. I have a project where I would like to press a button and turn on an LED for 80 seconds then immediately following I would like to blink another LED for 10 seconds with the process restarting itself unless it is paused by pressing a button. I have been looking at implementing millis() functions with buttons but I am a little overwhelmed. Any guidance would be appreciated.

You have to say what you mean by "blink" How many milliseconds ON and how many OFF?

So nothing happens when you turn on the Arduino. Push the button to get: First LED 80 seconds 0n Second LED 10 seconds 'blinking' (does the first LED turn off?) First LED 80 seconds ON Second LED 10 seconds 'blinking' . . . Until you push the same button again: light turns off and you go back to the beginning.

Start with this to get 2 LEDs to turn on in sequence after a button push. Then add code for the pause

// define all the variables
// define inputs, outputs in void setup()

// then loop will be like this - couple of timers, couple of flags to keep track of what's going on
void loop(){
currentTime = millis();  // capture current time - all time variables are unsigned  long
if ( (digitalRead(buttonPin) == LOW) && timer1Running == 0){ // button was pushed, wasn't running already
startTime1 = currentTime;
timer1Running = 1;
digitalWrite (LED1,  HIGH);
}

if (timer1Running == 1){
 if ( (currentTime - startTime1) >= 80000UL){  // time to stop 1st LED?
  timer1Running = 0;
digitalWrite(LED2, LOW);
timer2Running = 1;
startTime2 = currentTime;
digitalWrite (LED2, HIGH);
}
}

if (timer2Running == 1){
if ( (currentTime - startTime2)>=10000UL){
timer2Running = 0;
digitalWrite (LED2, LOW);
}
}

} // end loop

CrossRoads: Start with this to get 2 LEDs to turn on in sequence after a button push. Then add code for the pause

// define all the variables