Simply open text file and read string lines

I’m a high-level application developer coming from a Perl, PHP - based language. I’ve touched C many times and I learned a lot via large bite-sized tasks, but I am no C programmer having no style and knowing no standards. Despite what I think I know, I have run into this task multiple times in my life and each time I forget how I did it before. I also have a heck of a time finding the answer by searching, despite how common this subject is.

As embarrassing as it is, here is my dilemma:

I am opening a text file on an SD device, reading in the entire line as a char array and then sending it through a processing function. My problem is reading the lines of different sizes into a char array.

example psuedo code:

#include <SD.h>
File myFile= SD.open("example.txt");

char* LineFromFile[255]; // what if line has 260 chars?

char c; // character read in from file
int n = 0; // the character counter

while (myFile.available()) {
  // retrieve next character in the line
  c = myFile.read();

// if this is not a newline char, store and move on
  if (c != '\n') {
    LineFromFile[n] = c;
    n++;

// we reached end of the line, process what we found
  } else {
    // this works fine for now
    processLine(LineFromFile, n);

// reset counter
    n = 0; 

// How to resize/reset LineFromFile[] ?

}

}

Some more common (related) functions are not included in AVR-Lib that I know about (fopen, etc).

What is the best way to write this for an Arduino sketch as well as solving the problems I identified in the comments provided?

I’ve searched for this but everything I found seems to be a task that differs from this slightly making a different solution compared to my situation. I have had so much trouble over the years with this details to this seemingly simple operation. I need a C class or something…

So except for the size of LineFromFile it works?

You can do this two ways