Simultaneous loops

I’m still relatively new to programming so please bare with me but I’m trying to drive a stepper motor and get a position reading at the same time.

I’m using a TB6600 to drive the motor and an AMS5600 to read the position. Both the bits of code work seperatly but when I try run them together I just get a reading every loop of the driving code:

void loop() {

ang(); 
    drive();
}

void ang() {

SERIAL.println(String(convertRawAngleToDegrees(ams5600.getRawAngle()),DEC));
}

void drive()
{

digitalWrite(dirPin,HIGH); // Enables the motor to move in a particular direction
  // Makes 200 pulses for making one full cycle rotation
  for(int x = 0; x < 2000; x++) {
    digitalWrite(stepPin,HIGH); 
    delayMicroseconds(spd); 
    digitalWrite(stepPin,LOW); 
    delayMicroseconds(spd); 
  }

digitalWrite(dirPin,LOW); //Changes the rotations direction
  // Makes 400 pulses for making two full cycle rotation
  for(int x = 0; x < 2000; x++) {
    digitalWrite(stepPin,HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(spd);
    delayMicroseconds(spd);
  }

Is there a way to get these bits of cod to run at the same time?

Thanks in advance

Is there a way to get these bits of code to run at the same time?

Yes, use 2 separate processors.

The idea is not to run them at the same time but to interleave them and run them fast enough that for all practical purposes they are running at the same time.

Study these:
Using millis for timing
Demonstration for several things at the same time

Implement what you learn for your code.
Get rid of the delays and get rid of the for loops, let loop do the looping.

The processor can only run one instruction at a time. (There are often several machine code instructions required to execute one line of C++ code and these are executed in sequence, one instruction at a time.)