Single Axis Auto Level Guidance

I'm new to Arduino and am looking to make a auto levelling system working on a single axis.

The easiest way to describe what I'm trying to achieve is by using a a seesaw / teeter-totter and a glass of water for an example.

I'd like to mount a sensor where the pivot is, then at one end of the seesaw mount a servo controlled platform for the glass that counteracts the movement of the seesaw itself. As the end where the glass is located is raised the servo should pull allowing the glass to remain level, and likewise at the opposite end of the scale as the end is lowered the servo should push again keeping the glass flat.

I have an Arduino Uno, I have a couple of servos already set by for this project as well as a cheap wii nunchuk clone.

I had hoped that I could use the nunchuck to control the levels but now I'm not so sure it's suitable. When the seesaw is level and balanced I'd like to be able to set that as my 0 value, then as weight is added to either side of the pivot I'd like to calculate the angle of that movement and then adjust the servo the equivalent amount in the opposite direction.

With my experiments with the nunchuk thus far I've discovered that the readings on the accelerometers only really change when being moved continuously, if I tilt the nunchuk board and hold it at an angle it seems to stop registering it's tilted.

I don't know where to go from here, do I need a different sensor? Any help that you can offer would be gratefully accepted and aid me in completing my first project.

At the fulcrum point of your balance beam, mount a horizontal bar at right angles to the beam so that it rotates with the beam. Connect the end of the bar to the end of a potentiometer spindle. Use the readings from the potentiometer to tell you what angle the bar, and therefore the beam, is at.