Single input (Voltage) reading

Hello,

I'm new to this. I have a project where I a looking to read the voltage reported off a lock in amplifier and then get it to read as a digital item on my computer screen. I have a lock in amplifier. I will have one wire providing the demodulated information from the lock-in amplifier to the Arduino Uno.

During the course of time, the voltage will vary and I will need to be able to see, document and plot the variations. It seems like this is perfect for serial monitor and serial plotter. However, I'm not exactly certain how to make this work. I've been looking at projects using these tools, but they seem a bit complicated where as I suspect mine is very simple (perhaps wishful thinking). Where is the best place where I can find the basic information I need without too much extraneous information?

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Rene Steinhauer

What are You talking about? "Lock amplifier"? Never heard of such aq thing during 45 years of eletrotechnical work? Time for updating me.
Get a 0 to 5 volt signal out of what ever device it is and feed it to an Arduino. Then, as You say, You can use Serial Monitor or Serial plotter.

This tutorial may be of interest.

AVR chip Arduinos have a 1.1V reference for analog read. With a voltage divider you can get your input to 1.1V or less.

By default the analog reference is VCC which can vary.

groundFungus:
This tutorial may be of interest.

That's what I needed. As for what a Lock-in amplifier is, it is used for science experiments. I'm working on one now and need an inexpensive way to look for very small changes in electrical output.

Rene Steinhauer

very small changes

Can you quantify “small changes”. The basic Arduinos have 10 bit converters. That means, even with the 1.1V reference, at best 1mV/bit resolution.

GoForSmoke:
AVR chip Arduinos have a 1.1V reference for analog read. With a voltage divider you can get your input to 1.1V or less.