Single stepping servos for smooth movement- drifting toward dynamic target.

I'm new to coding but having lots of fun playing with arduino stuff. I recently built this circuit and am running this code (as an alternative to another tutorial that didn't have the servos returning to home).

Everything works overall, but the servo actions are really jerky. Judging from the feedback in serial monitor part of the problem lies in the physical construction of the thumb-joystick and use of micro potentiometers. I can move the stick a few degrees before the numbers start to change and then the servos jump toward the desired position.

What I'd like to code is a program that will observe the current stick coordinates and move toward them while hitting each step in between them. So instead of targeting from 0 deg to 10 deg, it would move to 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9, to arrive at 10 degrees. That makes sense, right? If it's ridiculously slow then maybe we step by a larger value but still- this is my thought on how maybe it could be approached. It's ok if the action is kind of "driftey", I much prefer that to jerky.

Of course feel free to ignore that thought and just tell me the proper way to do it...lol.

Here's my current code for reference- nearly verbatim from the instructible version just changed pins & delay time. Thanks for any help!

Your joy stick seems to working perfectly. A joystick has to have a dead spot when centered.

Paul

Have a look at the Sweep example in the IDE. That shows a technique for moving a servo 1 step at a time which might help you get started.

Or have a look at the VarSpeedServo.h library which allows you to set the speed of servo moves.

Steve

Paul- I wasn't suggesting the joystick was faulty- just that tolerances and precision could be better, and I think it plays into the control issue. Much sloppier than, for example a radio control stick.