Sizing source drive

Can anybody point me where to learn more about how a source drive ( transistor array) works, how to read the datasheet and properly size. i am trying to troubleshoot a design and i am a beginner.

Tell us more about what you are trying to accomplish, specifically. As for picking on, you are likely going to be looking at breakdown voltage and current output capability primarily. Of course it all depends upon exactly what you are trying to drive.

i am developing a larger 7 segment display which uses about 7 volts 60ma per segment. The source drive will have a 12v 2A regulated supply, the source drive would be turned on from a max7219. One question i have is, is the output voltage dependent upon the input voltage from the max7219? (i.e. will a 4 volts result in more output voltage than a 1v?)

Well, the MAX7219 expects to be a current limited supply to the load. By sticking another device in between the display and the MAX chip, you will defeat the whole purpose of it I think. You should try to find another current driver that uses a larger supply voltage.

I thought the source driver will take small current from the MAX7219 and "open" the path for the 12v to go to the segment. I thought the driver act as a series of transistors. I guess, then that comes back to my original question, Where can learn about how to properly use and size a source driver, no matter what the application.