Sketch doing opposite of what I am expecting. Using an encoder and push button.

Hello,

I’m new to Arduino’s. I am trying to write a Sketch by modifying an encoder Sketch I found. What I am wanting it to do is for the Led to light up. Then when the “UpperLimitSet” Button is pushed it reads the current encoder position. The Led should be on if the encoder is lesser than this number or the led should turn off if equal to or above this number. When I start this sketch the led turns on as I would expect. But when I push the button it then works the opposite of what I am expecting. The led turns on when above the encoder number and turns off when below.

I hope that is not to confusing. I am sure it is something simple that I am over looking. (maybe there is a completely better way of doing this too) I have not done any programming since 30 years ago with and Atari computer!

The purpose of this sketch (besides just playing and learning) will be to some day put programmable limits on an ironworker I own. Currently it has mechanical limit switches which work fine but it would be nice to be able to set limits simply but pushing a button.

Thanks for the help!

Jeff T.

/* Encoder Library - Basic Example
 * http://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_Encoder.html
 * This example code is in the public domain.
 */

#include <Encoder.h>

// Change these two numbers to the pins connected to your encoder.
//   Best Performance: both pins have interrupt capability
//   Good Performance: only the first pin has interrupt capability
//   Low Performance:  neither pin has interrupt capability
Encoder myEnc(2, 3);    //   avoid using pins with LEDs attached
const int ledPin =  13;      // the number of the LED pin
const int UpperLimitSetPin = 4;   //LowerLimit Button

void setup() {

pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // initialize the LED pin as an output:
  pinMode(UpperLimitSetPin, INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Basic Encoder Test:");
}

long oldPosition  = -999;