Sketch stops working when switching to external power supply

I am relatively new at this but pretty decent with electronics and troubleshooting. Kids and I building a rig to control a solar hot water pump based on sunshine/no sunshine. It works beautifly when plugged into USB power. as soon as i plug in the accessory power unit, it stops working (if USB is plugged in or not).

we are pretty excited to have started from scratch on this and have it working, but now hit a wall. Any help would be appreciated!

The power supply is 9v 1500ma, bought for this purpose. All of the board, relay and light resistor unit LEDs come on as expected when it is plugged in. but the actions stop working. I tried commenting out the serial print functions and anything related to the computer connection but still no luck. (side questions, do I need to do that if not using a computer for final implementation?)

yes, read the FAQ on the topic and tried both solutions

Using an Uno I bought a few years back. I have tried the reset button also.

The code below has the serial/computer stuff commented out but same issue when it wasn’t.

Thanks!

-Damon

int light = 0; // store the current light value

void setup() {
    // put your setup code here, to run once:
    //Serial.begin(9600); //configure serial to talk to computer
    pinMode(6, OUTPUT); // configure digital pin 6 as an output
    pinMode(7, OUTPUT); // configure digital pin 7 as an output
}

void loop() {
    // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
    light = analogRead(A0); // read and save value from PR

//Serial.println(light); // print current light value

if(light < 9) { // If it is direct sun...
        //Serial.println("Run pump!");
        digitalWrite(6,HIGH); //Turn on pump!
        digitalWrite(7,HIGH); //turn on LED
    }

else { // If it's cloudy or dark...
        //Serial.println("Turn off pump!");
        digitalWrite(6,LOW); // Turn off pump
        digitalWrite(7,LOW); //turn off LED
    }