Sketch works intermittently

I’m fairly new to arduino and C, and set myself the challenge of making a 7 segment display count to ten. I’ve connected the leds to the arduino, not via a shift register.

I have been mostly successful, but have a weird bug; when I first upload the sketch, it goes through the little set up flash I wrote within setup void(), but does not display the numbers… but when I press the hardware rest button, it works perfectly. Press it again and it fails, again and it it works, and so on! i.e. pressing the hard reset flip-flops the arduino between running the code correctly and incorrectly (or at least incompletely).

There are some other refinements I will make, the main one being to ballance the brightness of displaying different numbers (digits with few segments, e.g. 1 appear more bright than digits with more segments (8)… I’m sure I can make the code more efficient/elegant too, but this flip flop bug I have no clue about.

Here is my sketch:

void setup () {

//Serial.begin(9600);

for ( int a = 2; a < 10; a++ ) {
pinMode(a,OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(a,LOW);
delay(50);
digitalWrite(a,HIGH);
}
}

void loop () {

for ( int i=0; i<10; i++){
sevenseg ( i , 300 );
}
//sevenseg( 6, 1000 );

delay (200);
//for ( int v=0 ; v<=9 ; v++ ){
//sevenseg ( v , 1000 );
//}

}

void sevenseg ( int value, unsigned long time ){ //displays the number ‘value’ for a length of ‘time’ in ms.
const int Pinouts[8] = {
2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 };

int Pins = 8;
int onoff;
int thispin=0;

int segs[10][8] = {
//A B C D E F G dp - This matrix says which LEDs to turn on to create each number
1,1,1,1,1,1,0,0, //0
0,1,1,0,0,0,0,0, //1
1,1,0,1,1,0,1,0, //2
1,1,1,1,0,0,1,0, //3
0,1,1,0,0,1,1,0, //4
1,0,1,1,0,1,1,0, //5
1,0,1,1,1,1,1,0, //6
1,1,1,0,0,0,0,0, //7
1,1,1,1,1,1,1,0, //8
1,1,1,1,0,1,1,0, //9
};

unsigned long startDisp = millis();
unsigned long endDisp = startDisp + time;
unsigned long timecheck;

while ( timecheck < endDisp ){
Serial.println(startDisp);