Slotted Optical Sensor to trigger mouse click

I am a total newbie, but every time I ask a smart person how I would use a slotted optical to send a command to a windows application that would be a left or right mouse click or a keyboard press. The response I keep getting is, "you should be able to do that with Arduino". So where do I start? Where can I get a little schooling on this? Thanks!

An Arduino Leonardo or Micro or ProMicro can pretend to be a USB keyboard but an Uno or Mega cannot.

There are keyboard functions to make it simple to send a keypress

If the only job the Arduino has to do is check for an input from the slotted optical detector then you can constantly check with digitalRead() on the I/O pin the detector is connected to.

If you don't know how to connect an optical detector to an Arduino then I recommend this Sparkfun circuit. I have used it with several different detectors that I have salvaged from printers. Sparkfun refer to it as an analog circuit but I use it with digital inputs.

...R

Start by buying one of the Arduino boards Robin2 mentioned as well as the sensor and whatever you need to connect the sensor to the Arduino board.

Next, break the project into its components:

• Read sensor
  • Click mouse button

Write a separate minimal sketch for each of those tasks. You can find a lot of information in the reference pages on this website. For the mouse button part, the Mouse library documentation: Mouse - Arduino Reference and the example sketches at File > Examples > 09.USB with their associated tutorials: https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/BuiltInExamples. After you have learned how to do each task individually and have verified your code is working correctly, it will be fairly easy to combine the two into a single program.