Slow decrease in pwm to certain value

Just got my Arduino Uno, absolutely love it!

Im new to coding, but believe I am getting the hang of the basics so far.

Here is my question:

I'm running a motor via PWM and controlling the speed from a pot, 0-5v.

I am keeping the motor at a constant speed from 0-1v and then from 1-5v the motor increases its speed.

What I want to accomplish, is when the voltage drops from the pot below 1v, the motor SLOWLY decreases in speed back to the constant speed value, not at the same speed as the pot as turned.

Here is the code I have so far

int pot = A3;
int motor = 9;
int val = 0;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop()
{
  val = analogRead(pot);
  float volt = val * (5.0 / 1023.0);

if (volt < 1) {
    analogWrite(motor, 30);
  }
  else { 
    val = 255 * (volt/5);
    analogWrite(motor, val);
    Serial.println(val);
  }
}

Thanks in advance!

Not about your issue, but just a comment on this part

float volt = val * (5.0 / 1023.0);

if (volt < 1)

These chips don't have FPUs, so floating point math should be used sparingly. This is an example of where it can be eliminated by a simple calculation:

1023 val / 5 volt = x val / 1 volt = 204.6

So you can replace the if statement:

if (val < 205)

Will do thanks for the advice!

else { 
   val = 255 * (volt/5);
   if (currentVal < val)           // Don't forget to declare currentVal
   {    
      analogWrite(motor, currentVal);
      Serial.println(currentVal);
      currentVal++;
      delay (25);                 // Pick a delay that suits you, or take a look at "Blink without delay" example for more advanced method
   }
}

You'll also have to set currentVal to something smaller (I suppose 30) so it functions in the next iteration.
This place looks like a good place to do it:

if (volt < 1) {
    analogWrite(motor, 30);
  }