slow servo movement program

Hi

I am new to Arduino, and this is my first post here on the forum.
I built a small pan camera mount for a GoPro camera, which I want to use to shoot timelapse videos.
The camera can be programmed to shoot a picture every few seconds, all I want to do is to use the Arduino to move the camera with a servo very slow in a horizontal movement, to get a nice pan effect.

I use the “sweep” program from the example list, and just changed the delay.
The problem I have now is, that the servo waits for the delay which is set to pass, before it starts to do the first movement.
After that everything is fine …

How can I change the program to get the servo to start immediately to move, after the Arduino gets powered on?

Thank you for any help

Felix

forgot;
the program looks as follows:

void loop() 
{ 

for(pos = 180; pos>=1; pos-=1)     
  {                                
    myservo.write(pos);              
    delay(20);                      
  } 
  for(pos = 0; pos < 180; pos += 1) 
  {                                 
    myservo.write(pos);              
    delay(8000);                      
  } 
}

The first for loop ends with the servo positioned at 0. The second for loop starts with positioning the servo at 0, and waiting 8 seconds to move it one degree.

Start the second loop at 1, not 0, to get the first move without waiting.

By the way, the servo position is not terribly accurate, and the actual start and end values may not be 0 and 180. You need to verify the limits of travel, especially when moving the camera, before committing to the limits you have.

@Flenders: Are you finding the movement smooth enough for your purposes or does the camera jerk from degree to degree?

@PaulS: what do i do if i need pointing accuracy? Do people put encoders on servo setups?

what do i do if i need pointing accuracy?

Don't use a low accuracy, cheap mechanism.

Do people put encoders on servo setups?