Small board + LCD + Ethernet looking for advice

Hi! I'm a total newbie and I have a couple of questions that I'm having trouble finding answers for before I buy the parts that I need.

I want to build something that:

• Access a web page using Ethernet
  • Displays a bit of information in a LCD
  • Does that when pushing a button
  • Works without being plugged to a computer (plugged to a power outlet)
  • Has space limitations

Normally I'd go for a starter kit with an Arduino Uno, but the Uno won't fit in the space that I have. So I started looking at other boards and I have some questions:

• Is there any difference for my case between the Mini, the Nano and the Sparkfun Pro Micro?
  • Will all of them run Firmata + Johnny Five?
  • The Ethernet shield looks about the size of the Uno. Is there something smaller?
  • Can I use a laptop-like power adapter with a smaller board?

Thanks!

Ethernet shields are about the same size as a Uno. An ENC28J60 board is half the size.

That looks perfect! Thanks!

How about any of the other questions?

Also, will an Micro/Nano have enough pins for both the LCD and the Ethernet controller?

I don't know anything about those small micros but they are well endowed with pins and have the SPI and I2C busses, so there should be no problem. I understand they are powered the same way as any other Arduino. While "laptop type" is a pretty loose term, a laptop power supply per se would be a bad choice as they are typically 19v.

No comment on Firmata, and I have never heard of Johnny Five. I understand those micros have similar memory to a Uno and thus will run the same software. You just need to check that. Your project doesn't sound too demanding and you shouldn't have any problems. I understand the ENC28J60 module is just as easy to use as the standard Ethernet these days, but I haven't actually use mine.