Smart home usig arduino

Hi all,
I am new to arduino , I am experience with software programming .

I need to control my home and make it smart using arduino ,

i want to connect Arduino to any electric device and turn it on and off through internet (wifi) ,

Can Arduino chip send Data to any device ? for example if i need to check the status of this device ?

What hardware i must buy , Can i start with Arduino Starter Kit to be experienced with arduino ?

Any reference or guide to start with ?

Welcome to the forum.
You can WiFi shields like this

to let a microcontroller communicate over the internet.
The microcontroller, say a board like an Uno, will do the interfacing with the electric device.

I believe the starter kit comes with a book on what you can do with the starter kit components and writing some code.

I'm just a beginner and I have a project like this I want to use arduino compared to PIC.

Is there no other link that shows us some guide/ideas in building this Smart home using arduino?

if you want to control it via blue tooth this will help you a lot.

Arduino BLUETOOTH Communication with PC :- Embedded Systems: bluetooth

arduino relay interfacing (to connect fan or bulb):- Embedded Systems: relay

Yes, you can use an Arduino Ethernet connected to your home router to control it using your WiFi connection or from the abroad with some configuration on your home router.

I work on this opensource project that support many Arduino solutions even not Ethernet. Using it you can run your in minutes :slight_smile:
http://code.google.com/p/souliss/

Regards,
Dario.

Have a look at www.2wg.co.nz. That is my Arduino based home automation system. The web site shows you some home automation system and web site things you can do with Arduino equipment.

At this time I can open and close my garage door across the internet via this web site and the Arduino system behind it.