Smart kitchen drawers

Hey guys,

so I am VERY new at this, just bought my first Arduino Uno since I'm taking a distance course.

I've tried some basic things like LED's, buzzer, potentiometer etc.

I recently got this idea that I'll explain with a scenario:

You have your friends and family over and they are using your kitchen for some reason, making food for their kids or something. They have no idea where you keep your cutlery, dishes, kitchen utensils.... annyoing!

So they say: "google where are the spoons" and the drawer with the spoons in it pops out. Easy peazy!

I don't really know how to approach this project and want your help and feedback!

I'm thinking that every drawer that you want to be "smart" needs some sort of servomotor that pushes the drawer out, a wifi-module and a power supply?

Am I missing anything? Does every drawer need an Arduino?

Best regards from Sweden

Robin H

I think it would be sufficient if the "pusher" just moves the drawer out a short distance so it is visibly open. Then it can immediately retract so it won't get broken when someone closes the drawer.

I suspect some hobby servos would be strong enough to move a drawer - but you my need to experiment to find the size that is suitable.

Assuming the drawers are reasonably close together the servos could all be controlled by a single Arduino. I don't know if an ESP8266 board such as the WemosD1 can operate several servos, or what is the upper limit. The ESP8266 combines WiFi with a powerful microprocessor. If it does not have enough I/O pins you could pair it with one or more Arduinos.

I have no idea how you would interface a WiFi board like an ESP8266 to an internet voice control system - but I'm sure it has been done lots of times.

...R

Robin2 has the right idea of popping them open a bit.

a solenoid could 'push' a drawer out an inch or so. and, it would automatically retract

the problem is in coding your drawer contents to a pin address.