Smart postbox?

Hey guys,

I am a complete newbie to electronics stuff, so sorry if my questions are too obvious. However I did some googling and still didn’t find answers.

So, the idea I have is to receive a notification on my smartphone every time I receive a letter in my postbox. The postbox has a small door which is being lifted to push through the letter - see the picture attached. So I thought to use a light sensor that could detect the opening of the door due to the light entering. However I am not sure whether the sensor is able to detect such a quick change as it is in this use case (I guess 1-2 sec of light) and I am not sure which sensor to use:
photoresistor like this (http://de.aliexpress.com/item/Mini-Photocell-for-arduino-board-kit-for-raspberry-pi-10pcs-lot-freeshipping/858238463.html?isOrigTitle=true) or the light sensor module (http://de.aliexpress.com/item/5Pcs-Photosensitive-brightness-resistance-sensor-module-Light-intensity-detect-New-Free-Shipping/1625377263.html?isOrigTitle=true&isOrig=true#extend)?

Another approach could be probably to use the infrared proximity module but the postbox has a weird shape and its quite narrow at the bottom part where the letters are ending up…

Could you please share your ideas about the feasibility of such an idea and which sensor / approach you would recommend?

Capture.JPG

There have been several of these here - probably the biggest problem you are going to run into is how do you get the information from the sensor/controller inside the box to anywhere else? Most of those boxes are metal and therefore, you are not going to be able to get any kind of rf signal out of them (well, very high frequencies could escape while the little door is open, but that is it). See Faraday Cage for a better explanation.

Thanks a lot for a reply.