SMBus conflict with SPI?... RF22 wireless addition to temperature monitor

I am a noob to Arduino and programming. I would like to monitor temperatures in a bee hive and send the data into my home wirelessly. I use the LM95214 temp sensor with MMBT3904 transistors for sensors. I fabricated a PC and using SMBus on my DUE arduino I am able to read 5 temperatures (4 remote and 1 local to the chip). Next I purchased some HopeRF RF22 transciever modules and used Mike McCauleys code for arduinos. He has done a very extensive and well documented job of programming arduinos to do very basic to very elaborate wireless communication with these modules. I’ve inquired on his forum about my problem but he says I have programming issues and it should work if I have separate chip selects. So here’s my situation and questions:
-I can read data continuously on my serial monitor using SMBus to read my temperature sensor.
-I can attach one wireless module to one arduino at a server PC and the same at a client PC and run Mikes RF22 simple client and server programs and the two PCs communicate by sending the “Hello World” message and responding with “Received message”. this is all done swith SPI and the commands that Mike created in his RF22 library.
-When I add my temperature module to the client and attempt to send my array of temperature data instead of Mikes array of characters the program hangs on the ‘rf22.waitPacketSent()’ line. My serial monitor shows the temperatures, and prints “message sent” but won’t go any further. I tried disabling interupts and re-enabling them. My questions are:

*Is there something obviously wrong with my code that I’m not understanding?
*Is there a chip select for SMBus that might be causing contention with the SPI bus? I couldn’t find anything in the Arduino Wire library.
*I’ll even take advise on my code structure. As I said I’m new at this and have been learning from tutorials and reading examples.