So I really don't know what I'm doing...

Hi, I am looking for some guidance on what I need to be getting in order to complete my project. I'm trying to make a compact thing that has one motor that extends an arm downwards to press and hold a button on an external machine. There also has to be a timer on it that can be measured to 0.01 seconds, and three buttons to add/subtract time, and start the "robot". The time input would have to be sent to a method that would take that exact time as a parameter for extending the arm and holding it in for that time.

I've read around a bit and I think that I can do all of this on an Uno. I have plenty of experience in programming, it's just the hardware aspect of this that I have no idea about. Is it possible to do all of this? I figure I'll have to get some sort of servo motor, but how do I go about attaching that to an arm that would extend outwards? I also have no idea how to wire anything, does all of this sort of just "plug and play", or do I need to solder?

I appreciate any help I get, and sorry if these are basic/stupid questions.

Thanks.

Perfect, thanks. I realize it would be easier to have the button “pressed” electronically rather than mechanically but this button lies on another machine that is not mine, I’m just making this project to be able to interact with one single button on it. It may seem stupid, but there really isn’t any other way to go about it without a machine of my own.

As far as the mechanical design of the arm, that’s where I’m kind of stuck, I guess. I’m assuming I’d have to get a motor shield for the arduino uno, and connect a motor to that. However, I have no idea how I’m supposed to connect the motor to a mechanical arm. It doesn’t need to descend more than a 4 or so centimeters, with very little force.

Thanks for the reply, and sorry for such a vague description.

Can you mount a servo nearby, and just rotate the arm around to push the button.