software Serial interpretation of Datastream

Hi,

first of all my apologies in case I am asking dam stupid questions as I am a beginner.

I searched a lot but could not yet find any hint hence trying here to get a move in the right direction.

I have a electric converted car and intend to modify the electronics a bit. Specifically I have a serial connected Display showing me some Controller details of a Curtis motor controller. I intend to read such values in to transform them into a variable analog signal to connect it to my cockpit instruments. Frist step is to read the Data before then secondly I make use of the data.

If I connect putty, I clearly can read the data stream.
What I see on Putty is then : " P: 0.0kW P: 0.1kW P: 0.5kW P: 10kW P: 0.0kW P:-2.0kW......"

Now I connect my Arduino Uno via RX, having used the sample for SoftwareSerial, however on the Serial monitor I only see unreadable characters coming in.

I guess I need some way of Interpretation of the high and low signal stream, so something like a VT100 Protocol interpretation.

Am I right? Where and how to get there, I really have not found any hint anywhere.

Thanks for your support.

Heiner

Please, post your complete Arduino codes using code tags </>.

Have a look at the examples in Serial Input Basics - simple reliable ways to receive data. There is also a parse example to illustrate how to extract numbers from the received text.

The examples will also work fine with SoftwareSerial.

Be aware the SoftwareSerial does not work at high baud rates. 9600 is good and 38400 should work.

If you do need a high baud rate you should use an Arduino Mega which has 3 spare HardwareSerial ports.

...R

I think Heiner also needs to add a schematic; a photo/scan of a hand drawn one is fine. The mention of differential SoftwareSerial and rx-pin might indicate a wiring problem.

Another problem might be baud rate.

Hi,

ok, the wiring is this Laptop USB—Arduino–RX Pin 0 to TX of controller