Solar Array Controller

First, Hello all, I'm new here.. Hope I can live up to the newbie standards :)

The reason I'm here is simple, Arduino seems to be the answer to a lot of interesting problems from controlling robots to reading the temperature outside. As I was reading up on this little bad boy I noticed there are almost an unlimited supply of different sensors, libraries, and shields to do just about anything..

So, here is my first project. I want to track the sun using 2 BH1750 light sensor modules separated by a flat shield between them. When the shield shades one, the Arduino code will engage a relay to a 24v dc motor to change the angles of the solar panels so both sensors are gathering about the same level of light again.. When both sensors get below a certain level of light, it will cause the panels to return toward the east and simply wait for the sun to come up again to do it all over again..

Now, I have some coding experience, but mostly in php, ajax, javascript, and other web or browser based scripting languages. I have no doubt that I can learn to code in c+ and Arduino languages. My biggest downfall is understanding the electronics part of it, but I'll get there..

I downloaded the IDE and went through all the examples and they seem straight forward. Just like some of the programs I've worked on initiating the setup, defining variables, then start the loop. I've already ordered 2 Arduino mini's, 2 light sensors, breadboard, jumper wires, dc relays with 5v triggers, a temperature sensor, and a few other things just to play with.. Figured out by reading the forums today that I'll also need transistors..

So, I have to ask, Does the above sensors and "my thinking" sound about right? Is this feasible and as simple as it really seems??

another question I have is, if I do this project, how would be the best way to protect it from the elements and harsh sunlight??

Thank you for your time, Eric