Solar cell sensor BPW34 for tracking device with stepper motor

Hey. I want to connect multiple small solar cells in a circular shaped array and place on a tripod and then have a stepper motor orient itself to the same position as the solar cell which is producing the most electricity at any given moment.

Since I’m still very new to Arduino I’m a bit unsure how to do this, but I found a candidate sensor use which is the “Miniature Solar Cell - BPW34“, but I’ve read people say about similar cells that they max out their current/voltage production very quickly so what I’m afraid of is that if I put an array of these in sunlight they will all produce the same amount of electricity and it won’t be possible to orient motors with them. Does anyone know if this is the case or should this strategy work with these sensors?

What I want is a nice gradual difference in the outputs of all the sensors. Preferably I would also like to log the output from each one so I can analyse exactly what happened afterwards.

Here is a link for the sensor I’m talking about:

Even if they max out, you can use the values of the sensors further around by looking for two that are close and chose the position mid way.

Weedpharma

You can reduce the field of view of the photodiode by putting it in a tube or a well. Depending on the depth of the tube/well, only one or a few will be illuminated at any one time.

It is much better to use the photodiode in reverse-bias mode, rather than "solar cell" mode, and monitor the current flow instead of the voltage. The current flow will be linearly proportional to light intensity over a large range.

weedpharma:
Even if they max out, you can use the values of the sensors further around by looking for two that are close and chose the position mid way.

Weedpharma