Solar Charger

Hi all,
I was looking for some feedback on my idea. I’m new to electronics so go easy on me.

My thought was to have a battery power a pump for a vertical garden (http://our.windowfarms.org). I was going to use a solar panel to charge the batteries and have the pump drawing from batteries. At night, my hopes are that the solar/arduino part of the circuit would be “off” and the battery and load section would remain on.

I would code the arduino charge the battery until a certain voltage is read on A0, and after that it would trickle charge until the voltage fell below a certain value on A0 after which a normal charge would start.

solar-charger.png

If you try to manually charge a Li-Ion battery, you're going to need to set up a solenoid to release Halon when it bursts into flame. :-)

Use a dedicated, controller-based charger IC, or consider using NiMH or NiCd instead.

There are a couple problems with the lower half of that schematic: 1) You seem to be supplying the load with the Arduino as a PSU. Don't do that. Hook it up to your battery, switched via transistor or relay by an output pin on the Arduino.

2) If your plan is to trickle-charge the battery with an output pin, you'll need to limit the current from the Arduino to ~20mA or less, otherwise you'll fry the output.

3) You'll know when the battery is full by the drop in current. I don't think (?) you can read the battery status by watching voltage. As long as the charger is on, you'll see the charging voltage, not the battery voltage. (Someone correct me if I'm wrong.)

Thanks for your input!

Here is a revision in my schematic. I will use NiMH batteries and will use a ATTiny instead of an arduino (using this tutuorial (http://hlt.media.mit.edu/?p=1229). I also added a AC Source as a backup in case the batteries are low and require a charge.

Pin0 Indicator that solar panel is being used to trickle charge the battery