Solenoid actuator pushing and pulling with constant current

Hello guys,

It has been a while since I started studying about motors, actuators, solenoids and PWM power control with Arduino. My plan is to use Arduino to control the force frequency of a solenoid actuator, allowing a sweep from forces from 1 Hz to 200 Hz. Not sure if that will possible, though, I am still experimenting/studying.

Anyway, I bought a solenoid actuator from China (AliExpress) and decided to test it today. I just plugged it into a DC adapter I bought specifically for this (with appropriate voltage and current ratings).

But I got surprised when the solenoid keeps pushing and pulling while connected to the power. I thought that should only happen with the power was shut down or something like this, as this is what I did some time ago while dealing with solenoid water valves (they only close/open when power is off/on).

I already measured the voltage from the DC adapter, and it is stable at 12V.

What am I missing here guys? Is there any chance this solenoid has some feature which makes it turn on and off? I tried to look for specs using the model number, but it was unnsuccesful.

Best regards.

Additional info:

Youtube video of the testing: Solenoid testing Solenoid specs: Voltage: 12VDC, Current: 2.5A, Stroke: 10mm, Force: 55N DC adapter specs: INPUT: 100-240V~ 50-60Hz Max.0.8A / OUTPUT: 12V 2.5A Similar solenoids I bought, but different specs (original seller does not exist anymore): AliExpress, Amazon

My guess is that power supply is going into OCP (over current protection) mode , and 1 second later trying to restore power - again unsuccessfully. Try beefier power supply.

What is the coil resistance of that solenoid?

Hello guys, thanks for the tips and great insights! Did not though about it.

Indeed, just measured the coil resistance now and got 2.5 ohms. With 12V, that gives a current of 4.8 A, much more than the power source can handle.