Solenoid Valve Strange Behavior

Hi everybody,

I’m trying to get ride of rust over my brain by doing a little project, i wasn’t use any electronics through past 20 years (since i was graduated), i am an amateur photographer, so my project is controlling 12v DC solenoid valve by arduino to be able to photograph water drop collision.

Everything goes well, using TIP120 transistor and 1n4001 diode, and when i turn the power on and program starts, the solenoid works very well in exact timing of my program.

But, once i disconnected the 12v DC power while the arduino still running, the solenoid keep actuated for a while (for about 2 to 6 more times).

I wonder from where it got the power to actuate?!!!

below is my exact circuit.

http://www.martyncurrey.com/controlling-a-solenoid-valve-from-an-arduino/

SolCir01.png

The only viable explanation I can think of is "parasitic" power.

While the TIP series is very useful a lot of us use different types of MOSFET.
The most common being the IRF series.

Instead of just removing power to the TIP consider a dual pole dual throw switch to also break the signal line too.

Bob.

I think you unplugged the 12V supply at the mains, not disconnect it from the solenoid circuit? That would explain what you see.

Thanks guys,
What i can understand from bob and MarkT answers i should disconnect the power on the solenoid circut(which i didn't in first place).
That is OK, but i need to know where this power came from or stored in?!!!
And i need to know is this power will be harmful?
Thanks in advance.

Usually there is some residual power stored in capacitors.
Depending on the size and the implementation there can often be enough to activate some electronic items.

It would sound like the effect you saw.

Bob.

Thanks bob, but i didn’t used any capacitors, do you think the solenoid itself has some inside it?

What happens if you pull the plug out of the barrel socket on the breadboard?