***Solved*** After filtering out everything. This shoud work, but it does'nt

Hi you guys,

I encountered a bug in my software, which I narrowed down to just a few lines of code.
I'm quite new in this but I'm a quick learner. Especially the basics.

byte PreKar = 1; 
byte Kar = 0; 

void setup() 
 {
  Serial.begin(9600);
 }

void loop() 

{
  bitWrite (PreKar, Kar, 1);
  delay(1500);

Serial.println (PreKar);
  Serial.println (Kar); 
  Kar++;
  if (Kar = 64)
   {Kar = 0;}
 }

The thing is I have not enough experience with "bitwrite" I guess.
My intention is to have a Byte, named "PreKar" and change the individual bits it contains.
If I understand the explanation on the website correct, I'd name the Byte, the position, and the value.

For some reason that doesn't work.
In this matter I wrote a simple routine which increases the variable "Kar" so every 1,5sec. the next bit is changed to 1, so over time the whole byte should be turned 1.
But to keep it manageable I created a reset which resets things, so I can monitor its behavior.

For some reason, I keep on seeing only the 1 and a 0 on the next line because "Kar" does not increases.

Please do not ask me for my real intentions so one can find a better solution for that. :frowning:
That is not the way for me to learn.
I'd just want to understand that bitWrite thingy. :confused:

It is not

if (Kar = 64)

but

if (Kar == 64)

There is a difference between assignment and comparison.

if (Kar = 64)

This sets Kar to 64. Is that what you meant to do or did you mean to compare Kar with 64 ?

UKHeliBob:

if (Kar = 64)

This sets Kar to 64.

...and very shortly after, to zero.

This instruction sets the bit number ‘Kar’ (counting from right to left) of the variable ‘PreKar’ to 1.

Prekar is a byte, so it contains only 8 bits. You declare it with the initial value of 1, so the binary value of PreKar is : 00000001