[SOLVED?]Anyone Here Using VisualStudio Code for Arduino With a Nano?

I've been using VisualStudio Code for several months, and mostly really like it. But, yesterday I created a new project, and for some reason I cannot get it configured correctly. I get the following two errors:

#include errors detected. Please update your includePath. Squiggles are disabled for this translation unit (E:\Users\RayL\Documents\Arduino\StepperGauge\StepperGauge.ino).

cannot open source file "avr/pgmspace.h" (dependency of "E:\Users\RayL\Documents\Arduino\StepperGauge\StepperGauge.ino")

But my c_cpp_properties.json and arduino.json are essentially identical to the ones in several working projects created some time ago, except for the project/sketch name!

The sketch itself is fine, and compiles and runs correctly if I use the Arduino IDE. So, I have to wonder if the problem has to do with the fact that this project is using a Nano, instead of the micros, Megas, etc. I've used for other projects.

Anyone know enough about VSCode configuration to have a clue what might be going on?

Regards,
Ray L.

Ray:

I’m sure you checked your Path setting. I just used DuckDuckGo to look for “vs code c++ extension includepath” and there is some info that might be helpful.

econjack:
Ray:

I'm sure you checked your Path setting. I just used DuckDuckGo to look for "vs code c++ extension includepath" and there is some info that might be helpful.

I have discovered the code is, in fact, compiling without error, and a HEX file is created. The problem appears to be in the upload. For some reason, it is unable to sync to the Nano, so appears to hang (with no output to the console unless verbose is turned on). It eventually gives up and returns after 10 attempts at syncing.