SOLVED: Arduino Due Issues with MPU-6050

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting here, so please let me know if I can format this question better.

I recently decided to upgrade from an Arduino Uno to a Due in order to better meet the demands of some of my more complicated projects. I just got my Due in the mail yesterday, eagerly downloaded the associated board drives, and uploaded some preexisting code of mine to read angular rates from an MPU-6050. Although I was very excited to try my new board, I became a little disheartened and confused by the data being displayed on the serial port/display.

Before I continue, I’d like to stress that the code in question (posted below) has worked in the past and continue to produce reasonable results when uploaded to my Uno.

After uploading my code, I turned the MPU-6050 sensor by hand clockwise and got a reasonable angular rate of 20 deg/sec displayed over the serial comms window. Unfortunately, when I turned the senor counterclockwise, the serial display was spitting out a rotation rate of in excess of 400 deg/sec. I was only eyeing the motion, but I can confidently say that the clockwise and counterclockwise rates were approximately equal in magnitude.

Besides the excessively high angular rate readouts, I noticed a couple other anomalies that are fishy. First off, although I rotated the MPU-6050 both clockwise and counterclockwise, the polarity of the gyro’s rate readouts never changed; both CW and CCW motion had “positive” motion. In fact, any CCW motion results in a gyro readout of over 400 deg/sec. Additionally, my MPU-6050 is operating with default factory settings. Specifically, the gyro range is limited to +/-250 deg/sec. I’m unsure how I’m getting gyro rates in excess of the sensor’s range.