(SOLVED) Assigning variable to pins (Newbie needs help)

I apologise if this post is in the wrong section and this is my first post (probably many more to come). I am a complete beginner as far as Arduino is concerned and have bought the book ‘Arduino Projects for Dummies’ and working through the book. I have an Arduino Uno R3 and I am currently working on the project ‘The All Seeing Eye’ which basically fires up a series of 10 LED’s in sequence and which change direction when the last LED in the row lights up. I have been playing around with the variables and I am puzzled by this line in the code “int currentLED = 4;” (ignore the inverted commas). According to the book the LED connected to Pin 4 should light up first. But it doesn’t; the LED connected to Pin 8 on the board lights up. 5 lights up LED connected to Pin 9, 6 lights up LED connected Pin 10 and so on. Can anyone please explain what is happening here before I pull the rest of my already sparse hair out!

May I first recommend that you read the “How To Use This Forum” thread at the top of the forum.

I can’t immediately determine what is wrong until I see your code, because if you set pin 4 to HIGH and you have an LED correctly connected to pin 4, it will go on…

But as stated by DrAzzy below, it is most likely that there is an offset because the programmers didnt want to use pins 0 and 1, which are primarily used for serial communication. It would make sense that pin 4 is the first LED, and pins 5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13 are the other 9 LEDs.

EDIT: After looking online to download the book, failing, then looking online for the chapter, your welcome by the way, I have come to this page Chapter 4 which does indeed show that the first LED is connected to pin 4, so currentLED = 4; is specifying that the first LED is connected to pin 4

And DrAzzy, you called it, there is, in fact, an array mapping position to pin number,
“byte ledPin = {4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13};”

Here is the code