[solved] Choice of variables for integers below 65,000

I need to work with a few integers in the range of zero up to a maximum of around +10,000 so bytes and chars will not do, while Long is a waste of memory. No negative numbers are required so the choice seems to be down to Word vs Unsigned Int.

In my usage scenario, I will be doing some maths operations on the variables throughout the program. I am a hobbyist, I only ever work with Arduino and I have no plans to distribute my code. This program is embedded in a custom built, one-off device.

I did a little research and I have read that Word should not be used due to "portability", but further explanation was either unclear or lacking, therefore....

Q1. What is meant when people speak of "portability" for the Word variable - and should I be concerned as it seems that in my usage, I don't need consider it - or do I?

Q2. Referring to the Arduino reference, when using Unsigned Int with some maths operations, it seems I need to take just a little care to ensure that all inputs and results are maintained as Unsigned Int, otherwise "unexpected" results may occur. With this is mind, it seems that using Word is slightly cleaner and simpler to code for - but am I missing some other potential pitfall of using Word?

In your case, when staying within Arduino land, if all you need is 0-10,000 use the data type ‘int’ (Arduino 8 bit microcontrollers).

This might be best if you need to test for <0

Number 'type's.

• boolean (8 bit) - simple logical true/false, Arduino does not use single bits for bool
  • byte (8 bit) - unsigned number from 0 to 255
  • char (8 bit) - signed number from -128 to 127. The compiler will attempt to interpret this data type as a character in some circumstances, which may yield unexpected results
  • unsigned char (8 bit) - same as 'byte'; if this is what you're after, you should use 'byte' instead, for reasons of clarity
  • word (16 bit) - unsigned number from 0 to 65535